What's On



Huddersfield Town Hall

BBC Philharmonic: Schubert, Strauss, Brahms

Cropped_violin_428px Synopsis

Part of Kirklees Concert Season 2015-16

Juanjo Mena, Conductor
Alberto Menéndez Escribano, Horn

We are delighted to welcome the BBC Philharmonic to the Kirklees Season under its Chief Conductor Juanjo Mena in a programme of works by three generations of Austro-German masters. 

Franz Strauss was renowned as a virtuoso horn player, and his son Richard composed his First Horn Concerto with the hope that his father would give the premiere. In the event, the technical demands of this wonderfully fresh work, rich in melody, were deemed too risky by Strauss senior, who was by then in his sixties.

Schubert’s genial Sixth Symphony owes much to the example of Haydn, while BrahmsThird Symphony is a work of striking contrasts. The allegretto third movement, laced with melancholy, is a favourite for many, and it is followed by a tautly dramatic finale which eventually relaxes into a quiet ending that glows like sunshine through Autumn haze.

Schubert Symphony No.6
Strauss Horn Concerto No.1
Brahms Symphony No.3 
Next Performances
Fri 4th Mar

John Lill


10 Mar 2016


Howard Assembly Room

John Lill

Cropped_john_lill_428 Synopsis

The great British pianist makes a welcome return visit to the Howard Assembly Room.

Known particularly for his aristocratic interpretations of Beethoven and the great masters of the 19th and 20th century piano repertoire, here he plays Beethoven’s Piano Sonata No.14 Moonlight and Piano Sonata No. 32 in C Minor Op.111, together with pieces by Chopin and Schumann.

Book 3 or more shows from our Winter 16 collection and receive 20% off ticket prices. To take advantage of this offer please call 0844 848 2727, Monday – Saturday 10am – 6pm. Not available online.

Please note the time listed on your ticket/webpage is the start time for the performance. Doors open approximately 30 minutes beforehand. Where there is a support act, this will also be stated on the website/ticket. We recommend arriving at least 15 minutes before show time as latecomers will only be admitted during a suitable break in the performance.

Next Performances
Thu 10th Mar

The Ring Cycle


23 Apr - 10 Jul 2016


Touring 5 theatres

The Ring Cycle


Der Ring des Nibelungen

Richard Wagner (1876)

Wagner's epic masterpiece: unforgettable music and passion in a dramatic performance for the concert hall.

The Orchestra of Opera North is placed at the heart of a concert staging that makes Wagner’s narrative enthralling for both experienced Wagnerians and newcomers alike.

The culminative power of The Ring Cycle is all the more palpable when experienced in such a concentrated burst, offering the rare opportunity for total immersion in this unique, all-encompassing music drama.

The Ring Cycle is conducted by Richard Farnes, one of today’s leading interpreters of Wagner. The unrivalled power and vividness of Wagner’s music is translated into evocative and atmospheric lighting and film projections by Peter Mumford, bringing alive the full scale and splendour of Wagner’s magnificent conception.

A company of top British and international singers includes Giselle Allen, Mats Almgren, Susan Bickley, Lee Bisset, Michael Druiett, Robert Hayward, Kelly Cae Hogan, Yvonne Howard, Alwyn Mellor, Béla Perencz,  Mati Turi and Michael Weinius.

Please note that tickets for The Ring Cycle will be sold as full cycles per venue in the first instance. Single tickets may become available at a later date.

Next Performances
Sat 23rd Apr
Sat 30th Apr
Sat 14th May
Sat 21st May
There are a total of 24 upcoming performances for this production



28 - 29 Apr 2016


Howard Assembly Room


Cropped_pleasure_428px Synopsis

Val works the toilets in “Pleasure”, a hedonistic gay club in the north of England. For years, she’s been a shoulder to cry on and a confidante. She is much-loved but viewed as an enigma. Why is she still there? Why does she never leave? When a young man, both beautiful and unpredictable, arrives from the city and leaves a gift for Val, it marks the beginning of a passionate and violent night…

Born in Liverpool in 1988, composer Mark Simpson won BBC Young Musician of the Year as a clarinettist in 2006 and also, that same year, received the accolade of BBC Young Composer of the year – the only individual to have won both competitions. In 2010 he won the Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Award. With a growing catalogue of works to his credit, his orchestral scores A Mirror-Fragment and Threads (both 2008) as well as Sparks (2012) have all been well received. Here he turns to opera for the first time; his librettist is Melanie Challenger, whose poetry and prose have both been widely admired.

Pleasure marks the third collaborative project Opera North, Aldeburgh Music and Royal Opera House giving opportunities to emerging opera writers.

Sung in English

Lasts approximately 1 hour 15 minutes

Supported by the Opera North Future Fund, the Emerald Foundation and the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation.

Next Performances
Thu 28th Apr
Fri 29th Apr


Performance Archive

Newsletter sign-up

Enter your email below:

New to Opera?

- What to wear?

- What to expect?

- How much are tickets?

- How long is it?