HRH The Duke of Kent KG


George Lascelles, 7th Earl of Harewood KBE


Keith Howard OBE


Richard Mantle OBE

General Director

Garry Walker

Music Director

Board of Trustees

Paul Lee OBE (Chairman)
Rosie Millard OBE (Vice Chairman)
Ed Anderson
Mark Armour
Renée Hunt
Henrietta Jowitt
Peter Maniura
Howard Gatiss
Richard Mantle OBE
Cllr Jonathan Pryor
Irving Warnett

Vice Presidents

Dame Josephine Barstow
Michael Beverley DL
Liz Bramall
Terry Bramall CBE
Lady Eccles of Moulton
Sir Alistair Graham
Francesca Horsfield DL
David Lascelles, Earl of Harewood
Clive Leach OBE
David Lovell
Lindsay Mackinlay DL

Development Committee

Clive Lloyd (Chairman)
Michael Furse
Howard Gatiss
Sir Andrew Lawson Tancred Bt
Arthur Lovitt


HR Manager
Catherine Bourke

HR Assistant
Daniella Thackray

Executive Assistant to the General Director
Hayley Smith

General Manager, Howard Assembly Room
Richard Ashton

IT Support Engineer
Karl Thomas

Head Receptionist
Louise Brady


Finance Director
Kirsty Bullen

Management Accountant
David Naylor

Finance Assistants
Sue Rennie
Bernice Wilson*
Lauren Peel
Victoria Atkinson


Director of Planning
Christine Jane Chibnall*

Planning Administrator
Sian Gilroy

Casting and Scheduling Administrator
Megan Nelson

Company Manager
Jane Bonner*

Auditions and Music Department Co-ordinator
Felicity Dunk

Planning Assistant
Stephanie Schofield


Music Director
Garry Walker

Principal Guest Conductor
Antony Hermus

Head of Music
David Cowan

Assistant Head of Music
Annette Saunders

Chorus Master
Oliver Rundell

Music Staff
Martin Pickard
Valeria Racco
Philip Voldman

Library & Information Services Manager
Andrew Fairley*

Victoria Bellis

Titles Supervisor
Lydia French

Titles Operators
Charlie Gower-Smith
Heather Greenwood
Christopher Pelly

Artistic Administration

Director of Orchestra and Chorus
Phil Boughton

Chorus Manager
Howard Croft

Assistant Chorus Manager
Clara Marshall Cawley

Music Secretary
Helen Stephens*

Orchestral Operations Manager
Christopher Ladds

Orchestral Operations Assistant
Ciarán Campbell


Education Director
Jacqui Cameron

Education Manager
Jo Bedford

Education Digital Manager
Marie Lemaire

In Harmony Manager
Charlotte Perkins

Community Programme Manager
Alex Bradshaw

Youth Orchestral Manager
Emma Barnett

Schools Programme Manager
Claire Armour

Community Activity Coordinator
Maisie Leddy

Education Administrator
Janet Crowther

Youth Chorus Master
Nick Shaw

Choral Learning Team
Marie Claire Breen
Jenny Sterling

Education Accompanist
Elizabeth Jones

Head of Instrumental Learning
Murray Greig / Adam Mackenzie

Instrumental Learning Team
Michael Arnold
Linda Shaw
Leila Marshall
Peter Phelan
Helena Logah
Jennifer Moss
Chloe Hayward

(Phase Leads)
Elizabeth Brierley
Ellen Brookes
Chris Guénault
Stephen Laidlaw
Jennifer Piggott


Projects Director
Dominic Gray*

Projects Manager
Jo Nockels

Projects Officer
Kathryn Gasic

Projects Assistant
Florence Fawcett

Community Partnerships & Access Manager
Alice Gilmour

Community Partnerships Assistant
Tiphaine Kelly-Mancaux

Higher Education Partnerships Director
Lesley Patrick

Higher Education Co-ordinator
Francesca Russo

External Affairs

Director of External Affairs
David Collins


Head of Development
Deborah Larwood

Fundraising Consultant
Rory Wardroper

Trusts and Foundations Manager
Karen Li †

Corporate Partnerships Manager
Ed Cox

Relationship Co-ordinator
Robyn Masson

Events Co-ordinator
Manpreet Dhadda

Capital Campaigns Co-ordinator
Natalie Rawel

Development Systems Co-ordinator
Stephanie Hadjioannou


Head of Marketing
Emily Simpson

Marketing Officers
Katie Lear
Kate Robertson

Campaigns Co-ordinator
Judith Padmore

Creative Designer
Neil Armstrong

Junior Artworker
Hollie Marshall

Stuart Leeks

Sales and Box Office

Head of Sales and Customer Engagement
Hazel Arthur

Box Office Manager
Amy Townson

Box Office Supervisor
Hannah McKenna

Box Office Assistants
Pippa Lodge
Brandon Robinson-Connolly


Head of Communications
Julia O’Sullivan

Press Officers
Elizabeth Simmonds
Rowland Thomas

Digital Content Producer
Jessica Fitton

Web and Digital Officer
Jessica Leaman

Senior Multimedia Producer
Alex Ramseyer-Bache


Technical and Production Director
Kieron Docherty

Technical Manager
Peter Restall*

Technical Department Co-ordinator
Sarah Jarvis

Senior Production Manager
Ray Hain*

Production Office Co-ordinator
Laura Hart

Stage Manager
Kate Freston-Davy

Deputy Stage Managers
Abby Jones
Lisa Ganley

Assistant Stage Managers
Rebecca Wing
Eve Machin
Lucy Neale

Head of Stage
Steve Hodgkinson

Deputy Heads of Stage
Barry Fettes
Tom Alexander

Stage Wingmen
Ruth Hardisty
Richard Hirst

Head Flyman
Jono Wilks

Deputy Flyman
Tony White

Stage Daymen
Douglas Barrett
Richard Tait
Louis Joseph

Stage Technicians
Paul Ingle
Alex Perry
Mark Peterson
Jacob Newton
Ruth Lodge

Howard Assembly Room Senior Technician
Jamie Saye

Sound Manager
Steve Hawkins

Sound and Video Technician
David Kennedy

Head of Electrics
Mike Lock

Deputy Chief Electrician
Richard Moore

Senior Electrician
Simon Watson

Production Electricians
Chris Speight
Keir Webster

Head of Properties
Karl Graham*

Props Assistants
Martin Breidenbach*
Mark Longthorn

Head of Costume and Wigs
Stephen Rodwell*

Senior Costume Supervisor
Mary Gillibrand*

Costume Supervisor
Georgina Moss

Workroom Manager
Lyndsey Sandham

Ladies Cutter
Julia Wilson

Sewing Assistants
Catherine Lowe
Rebecca Sotnyk
Eleanor Barton
Ellen Murgatroyd

Running Wardrobe Supervisor
Jayne Matthews*

Deputy Running Wardrobe Supervisor
Denise Joslin*

Wardrobe Assistant
Emma Statt

Wigs and Make-up Supervisor
Jo Charlton Wright

Wigs Assistants
Nicola Faulkner Heath*
Bethany Gibson

Natalie Needham

* Opera North Company member for 25 years or more
† Maternity Cover

The Orchestra of Opera North »

Chorus of Opera North »


Search our site