Orchestra of Opera North: Music of Consequence

Wagner, Ravel and Shostakovich

This event has passed.

Few pieces demonstrate the effects of war more starkly than Ravel’s Piano Concerto in D major, written for the Austrian pianist Paul Wittgenstein, who lost his right arm in World War I.

This extraordinary work will be performed by award-winning French pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, a renowned exponent of Ravel’s music who makes his Kirklees debut alongside conductor Christoph Altstaedt.

Sandwiching the concerto are Shostakovich’s 15th and final symphony, and Wagner’s Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde. Shostakovich’s 15th is a profound piece where nothing is quite as it seems. Quotations from other musical works litter the symphony, none more poignantly than the leitmotif from Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde.

Talking Music begins at 6.40pm

Tickets from £13 | Concessions available

16 and under: £1
17-29 ‘Give it a Go’: £4
Concession: £11-£24

Christoph Altstaedt

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet


Wagner Tristan and Isolde: Prelude and Liebestod
Ravel Piano Concerto in D major
Shostakovich Symphony No. 15

Kirklees Concert Season brochure

This event is part of the Kirklees Concert Season 2018/19. View the full season brochure or listen to the audio brochure.

To save money and become a subscriber, download form or call Kirklees Box Office on 01484 225 755.

Orchestra of Opera North: Music of Consequence

Search our site