Orchestra of Opera North: Russian Spirits

Lyadov, Tchaikovsky and Prokofiev

This event has passed.

The legendary Russian nymph, Kikimora, inspired Lyadov’s tone poem for orchestra, feeding the composer’s fascination with folklore. Darkly expressive, the piece evokes the sprite’s evil intentions for the world.

From the unmistakable opening horn chords to the folk tunes woven throughout the thematic material, Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto is a masterpiece of concerto writing. Boris Giltburg, lauded across the globe as a deeply sensitive, insightful and compelling musician, debuts in Kirklees to perform the expressive solo.

Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5 is an homage to the spirit of man. Inspired in the summer of 1944, during World War II, this symphony is distinctly Prokofiev in both substance and style and quotes his beloved ballets Cinderella and Romeo and Juliet.

Fresh from conducting Opera North’s new production of Tosca, we’re pleased to welcome Antony Hermus to the podium for the afternoon’s concert.

From £13 | Concessions available

16 and under: £1
17-29 ‘Give it a Go’: £4
Concession: £11-£24

Antony Hermus

Boris Giltburg


Lyadov Kikimora Op. 63
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1
Prokofiev Symphony No. 5

Kirklees Concert Season brochure

This event is part of the Kirklees Concert Season 2018/19. View the full season brochure or listen to the audio brochure.

To save money and become a subscriber, download form or call Kirklees Box Office on 01484 225 755.

Support the Kirklees Concert Season

Each year the Orchestra of Opera North and a host of internationally renowned musicians and performers are brought together on the concert platform for the Kirklees Concert Season. To ensure your concert season continues to bring music into the heart of Kirklees for future seasons please consider making a donation today.

Donate now

Orchestra of Opera North: Russian Spirits

Search our site