Orchestra of Opera North: Shostakovich and Bartók

27 Feb 2022

Book Now


Ustvolskaya Symphonic Poem No. 2
Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1
Bartók Concerto for Orchestra

The maelstrom of the mid-20th century is the focus tonight, as Antony Hermus’ programme opens with Galina Ustvolskaya’s terrifically imposing Symphonic Poem No. 2.

Returning to the work of her teacher, Shostakovich, Leader of the Orchestra David Greed steps forward as soloist in the First Violin Concerto. One of Bartók’s last and most popular compositions – featuring a cheeky quotation from Shostakovich’s “Leningrad” Symphony – the Concerto for Orchestra closes the evening.

“Speaking of thrills, there is the orchestra. Conductor Antony Hermus presses the Opera North players hard, with excellently menacing results”
The Times on Tosca (2018)

From £13 | Concessions available
  • Huddersfield Town Hall

Start time
Join us for a free pre-show talk, starting at 3.40pm

16 and under: £1
Under 30: £4
Concession: £11-£24

Part of the Kirklees Concert Season. Explore the full Season including the organ series here. 

Subscription packages on sale now

Book a subscription package to see more concerts and save money – plus enjoy added benefits such as discounts on concert programmes and access to open rehearsals! Book your subscription package online, or call Kirklees Town Hall Box Office on 01484 225 755 Mon–Fri 9.00am–5.00pm.


Antony Hermus


David Greed


Orchestra of Opera North: Shostakovich and Bartók

Search our site