Orchestra of Opera North: Triumph Over Tragedy

This event has passed.


Britten ‘A Time There Was’
Elgar Cello Concerto
Shostakovich Symphony No. 5

Garry Walker takes to the podium for his first Kirklees concert as Opera North’s new Music Director, with a programme steeped in nostalgia and powerful human emotion.

Britten returns to older folk melodies and traditions in ‘A Time There Was’, written in his later years when he produced some of his most beautiful music.

Guy Johnston, one of the most exciting British cellists of his generation, is our guest soloist for Elgar’s Cello Concerto, a deeply moving elegy for a lost generation written in the shadow of the First World War, while Shostakovich’s miraculous Fifth Symphony brought him back into favour with the Soviet regime, at the same time as it attacked Stalin’s crushing oppression in the most intense musical terms.

“…astutely conducted by Garry Walker… the company’s orchestra in full flight, illuminating the glints and shadows of Britten’s miraculous score”
The Observer on Billy Budd (2016)

From £13 | Concessions available

Start time
Join us for a free pre-show talk, starting at 6.40pm

16 and under: £1
Under 30: £4
Concession: £11-£24

Part of the Kirklees Concert Season. Explore the full Season including the organ series here. 

Subscription packages on sale now

Book a subscription package to see more concerts and save money – plus enjoy added benefits such as discounts on concert programmes and access to open rehearsals! Book your subscription package online, or call Kirklees Town Hall Box Office on 01484 225 755 Mon–Fri 9.00am–5.00pm.


Garry Walker


Guy Johnston


Orchestra of Opera North: Triumph Over Tragedy

Search our site