The New World Symphony

Kirklees Orchestral Series

Thursday 21 September 2023

This event has passed.

Book a subscription package to see more concerts and save money!
Book your subscription package online, or contact the Opera North Box Office.

Opera North Music Director Garry Walker kicks off the season with a colourful programme including the sparkling Overture from Gershwin’s 1930 musical Girl Crazy, Abreu’s exuberant ‘Tico-Tico no fubá’ and Gulda’s flamboyant Cello Concerto featuring award-winning Scandinavian cellist Andreas Brantelid.  

The mellow, mood-boosting theme of the second movement of Dvořák’s Ninth has become one of the most recognisable melodies in classical music. Influenced by his experiences in America, the ‘New World’ symphony is about discovering something new, so why not encourage a friend or family member to try their first orchestral concert? 

Part of the Kirklees Concert Season.

From £13* | Concessions available

Pre-concert talk 6.40pm
Start time 7.30pm

16 and under £1
Under 30 £4

*Booking fees apply


Dvořák Symphony No. 9 ‘From the New World’  


Gulda Cello Concerto 
Puello New Commission
Gershwin Girl Crazy Overture 

Abreu Tico Tico no fubá 


Image of conductor Garry Walker
Garry Walker


A man wearing a white shirt with tousled hair.
Andreas Brantelid


Orchestra of Opera North

The New World

Search our site