Shostakovich & Prokofiev

Thursday 26 January 2023

Package booking

The blazing energy and beautiful melodies of Prokofiev’s Third Piano Concerto fill the Town Hall as Moscow-born Israeli pianist Boris Giltburg returns to the Orchestra of Opera North following his triumphant Huddersfield performance of Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto.

Completed in 1953 after the death of Stalin, Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony is commonly interpreted as a gripping journey through the terror of the Soviet regime, ending with the triumph of the individual over a brutal state.

Part of the Kirklees Concert Season.
Explore the full Season including the organ series.

From £13 | Concessions available
  • Huddersfield Town Hall

Pre-concert talk 6.40pm
Start time 7.30pm

16 and under £1
Under 30 £4
Concession £11 – £24

Subscription packages on sale now

Book a subscription package to see more concerts and save money – plus enjoy added benefits such as discounts on concert programmes and access to open rehearsals! Book your subscription package online, or call Kirklees Town Hall Box Office on 01484 225 755 Monday – Friday, 9.00am – 5.00pm.

Single tickets on sale from Tuesday 5 July 2022.


Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 3
Shostakovich Symphony No. 10


Antony Hermus


A man with short dark hair looking to the right. One of his hands is raised to his face.
Boris Giltburg


Orchestra of Opera North

Shostakovich & Prokofiev

Search our site